top of page

What We Believe

We believe in a loving, liberating, and life-giving God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

We believe in following the teachings of Jesus Christ, whose life, death, and resurrection saved the world.

We believe God loves you - no exceptions.

The Bible

We believe that the Holy Scripture contains all things necessary for salvation. The Scriptures were written under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit.

We understand the meaning of the Bible with the help of the Holy Spirit, who guides the Church in the true interpretation of the Scriptures.

Although we acknowledge and accept many translations of the Bible, we typically use the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV, 1990) in our worship.

Book of Common Prayer

The Book of Common Prayer

The Book of Common Prayer is full of devotional and teaching resources for individuals and congregations, but it is also the primary symbol of our unity. Anglican and Episcopal liturgical piety has been rooted in the Prayer Book tradition since 1549.

We, who are many and diverse, come together in Christ through our worship - our common prayer. The Prayer Book, most recently revised in 1979, contains our liturgies, prayers, theological documents, and more.

The Creeds

The creeds are statements of our basic beliefs about God.

While we will always have questions about God, the Church, and our own faith, we have two foundational creeds that we use during worship: the Apostles' Creed and the Nicene Creed. In reciting and affirming these creeds, we join Christians across the world and throughout the ages in affirming our faith in the one God who created us, redeemed us, and sanctifies us.


The Catechism

The Catechism helps teach the essential truths of the Christian faith and how Episcopalians live those truths. It is also intentionally organized so as to provide a brief summary of the Church’s teaching for anyone interested.

The Sacraments

Our tradition recognizes sacraments as outward and visible signs of inward and spiritual grace. Holy Baptism and the Eucharist (or Holy Communion) are the two great sacraments given by Christ to his Church.

In addition to these two, there are other spiritual markers in our journey of faith that can serve as means of grace.

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • X
bottom of page